Brazill Crowned Best And Fairest For 2018

1 year ago

Ash Brazill has capped off a career-best campaign by being crowned Magpies Netball’s best and fairest player for 2018.

The 28-year-old finished on 51 votes, nine ahead of last season’s best and fairest winner, Caitlin Thwaites. Collingwood captain Madi Robinson rounded out the top three with 37 votes.

Starting in all 14 of the Magpies’ matches this season, Brazill recorded 33 intercepts; the most of any wing defender in the league.

The dual-coder – who made history earlier this year by becoming the first athlete to play two codes under the one sporting club – captivated the netball community with her high-flying and consistent defensive play across the season.

One of her strongest performances came in round six, when she starred for the Magpies as they toppled the Firebirds for an important victory in Launceston.

Brazill’s best and fairest with the Magpies marks the second of her career, having won an MVP award with the West Coast Fever in 2012.

Admired by her teammates, opposition and supporters around the country, the defender was also presented the fans’ choice award, voted by Collingwood members and supporters.

Brazill headlined a list of winners at the club’s best and fairest event on Thursday evening, held at Metropolis Events in Melbourne.

Known for leadership, work ethic and professionalism, retired midcourter Shae Brown took home the Players’ Player award, as voted by her peers.

Goal shooter Caitlin Thwaites earned runner-up honours in the best and fairest race after another strong season.

Collingwood’s state-affiliate side, the Tasmanian Magpies, were also recognized for their 2018 Australian Netball League (ANL) premiership win at the club’s best and fairest event.

Four individual awards were presented on the night, with Collingwood training partner Sharni Lambden claiming the Tasmanian Magpies best and fairest after a stand out season in goal defence.

2018 Magpies Netball Best and Fairest Top Five:

  1. Ash Brazill, 51 votes
  2. Caitlin Thwaites, 42 votes
  3. Madi Robinson, 37 votes
  4. Sharni Layton, 28 votes
  5. Erin Bell, 22 votes

Other Award Winners:

Players’ Player

Shae Brown

Fans’ Choice Award

Ash Brazill

Tasmanian Magpies Best and Fairest

Sharni Lambden

Tasmanian Magpies Runner Up

Melissa Bragg

Tasmanian Magpies Coaches Award

Cody Lange

Tasmanian Magpies Best Player in Finals

Kelsie Rainbow

More news